The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and up to 18 members appointed by the Minister from among leading Canadian scientists and businessmen with a knowledge of fishery problems, and senior officers of the Department of Fisheries.

The Board operates five biological stations across Canada, three technological stations with two application units and two oceanographic groups. It serves as the scientific arm of the Department of Fisheries and its principal objective is to increase the scope and value of Canadian fisheries through scientific research.

**Department of Insurance.**—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; and Civil Service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a Great Britain-United States treaty, Jan. 11, 1909, ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada) is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and the Secretary of State of the United States.

**Department of Justice.**—This Department, established by 31 Vict., c. 39 (1868), now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 71). It provides legal services to the Government and various government departments including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administers federal statutes dealing with legal matters and provides administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

**Department of Labour.**—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (63-64 Vict., c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employees equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; vocational training; annual vacations with pay. It promotes joint consultation in industry through labour-management committees; provides co-ordination of services for rehabilitation of disabled civilians; organizes manpower utilization programs, e.g., farm labour; and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the *Labour Gazette* and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the Vocational Training Advisory Council acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization.

The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which also maintains the National Employment Service, reports to the Minister of Labour.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (13 Geo. VI, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides